top of page

Implementing Augmented Reality

An easy and inexpensive way to create augmented reality is to use the app on iOS called HP Reveal, formerly known as Aurasma. Once you have downloaded the app, you then need to create an account with the app and also create an account on your computer with “Studio for Aurasma”. Once you have that, you can create a new aura. This is where you will upload the trigger image. The trigger image is the image that you will hover over and it will trigger things to happen. It should be relatively simple and straight forward, however, I have my name on my card as the trigger image and that works. Once you select the image, you can mask out everything around that image. For example, I removed all of the other words and the frame, so only the name is the trigger. Here is how to view what it will look like:


When you download HP Reveal, and go to the studios website, you have to favorite the my auras, then when you hover over this image, you will see various icons to contact me.

Now, back to creating!  You have your trigger image in place, now you need to determine what you want to appear once the trigger is “pulled” so to speak. I have a linked in icon, a Facebook icon, an email icon, and a website icon, all of which link to my personal accounts. So you can add different icons, but you will have to download the icons and save them in order to upload them. Once you upload the image, you can add an action. if you want to do a mailto, remember it must say “mailto:myemail@mail.com” without the quotes of course. Otherwise, just add in hyperlinks to the different websites or social media sites. I know this is a very broad overview on how to do this, and if there is enough interest, I can generate a short micro training video demonstrating how to create different auras. so please let me know what you think, or if you have any questions. Happy reality!

3 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Learning Solutions Conference 2017

I was fortunate enough to attend the eLearning Guild Learning Solutions conference in Orlando this spring. Beyond the networking and mind-blowing demonstrations, we had wonderful weather to compliment

bottom of page